Quinnipiac Athletics Places 66 on NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll; 10 on Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll

SOMERSET, N.J. – The Quinnipiac University Department of Athletics and Recreation placed 66 student-athletes on the Northeast Conference 2012-13 Spring Academic Honor Roll, announced on Thursday, June 20, 2013. Of the 66 student-athletes, 10 were also named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

The NEC’s Spring Academic Honor Roll consisted of 913 student-athletes with a 3.20 or better grade-point average, an increase of three percent from the 2012 spring season. There were also a record 215 student-athletes named to the spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll, recognizing those superior student-athletes with a 3.75 or better grade point average.  The number of students named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll represented a four percent increase from a year ago.

Quinnipiac University – Northeast Conference Commissioners’ Honor Roll
Matthew Lorenzetti  (So. / Baseball / Accounting)
Spencer Kane (Sr. / Baseball / Finance)
Ryan Keenan (Fr. / M. Lacrosse / Business)
Gregory Pendergast (So. / M. Lacrosse / Economics)
Kayla Ketcheson (Sr. / W. Golf / Business Management)
Phoebe Laplante (Jr. / W. Lacrosse / Biology)
Abigail Johnson (Fr. / Softball / Nursing)
Sarah Viebrock (Sr. / W. Tennis / English)
Katy Petrie (So. / W. Track & Field / Physical Therapy)
Kristen Ulrich (Fr. / W. Track & Field / Accounting)

Over the course of the 2012-13 academic year, a record total of 2,332 student-athletes landed a spot on the Academic Honor Roll. That figure represents nearly half of the NEC’s competitors. On the year, 582 student-athletes were named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll, also an all-time high for the Conference.

About The Northeast Conference
Now in its 32nd year, the Northeast Conference is an NCAA Division I collegiate athletic association consisting of 12 institutions of higher learning located throughout six states. Media coverage of the NEC extends to four of the largest markets in the United States - New York (#1), Pittsburgh (#23), Baltimore (#27), and Hartford/New Haven (#30). Founded in 1981 as the basketball-only ECAC Metro Conference, the NEC has grown to sponsor 23 championship sports for men and women and now enjoys automatic or play-in access to 14 different NCAA Championships. NEC member institutions include Bryant, Central Connecticut State, Fairleigh Dickinson, LIU Brooklyn, Monmouth, Mount St. Mary’s, Quinnipiac, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, St. Francis Brooklyn, Saint Francis U and Wagner. For more information on the