Justin Rutty Named Connecticut 6 Player of the Year

HAMDEN, Conn. - Quinnipiac University men's basketball junior Justin Rutty (Newburgh, N.Y.) has been named the Connecticut 6 Player of the Year, following a vote of the six teams' coaches. Joining Rutty on the Connecticut 6 First Team was James Feldeine (New York, N.Y.), while James Johnson (Queens, N.Y.) was selected to the Second Team. The Bobcats led all teams with three players named All-Connecticut 6. Fairfield and Sacred Heart had two players each, while Central Connecticut, Hartford and Yale had one player recognized.

One of just 20 players in the nation to average a double-double, Rutty adds Connecticut 6 Player of the Year and First Team to an already long list of accolades. Included are NEC Player of the Year, CollegeInsider.com NEC Player of the Year, All-NEC First Team, National Association of Basketball Coaches District 18 First Team and Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC) Third Team recognition.

Rutty averaged 15.3 points (8th-NEC) and a league-best 10.9 rebounds per game (8th-NCAA), while shooting 54.2 percent from the floor (2nd-NEC) in leading the Bobcats to their first NEC Regular Season Championship during his junior season. He compiled a league-best 17 double-doubles, while finishing second in the nation for the second consecutive year with 4.9 offensive rebounds per game. Rutty scored his 1,000th point in just his third season at Quinnipiac, and currently stands 15th all-time on the NEC's career rebound list with 798 boards. He's also 23rd on the Quinnipiac career scoring list with 1,158 points. Rutty's effort on the boards led the Bobcats to the nation's second-best rebounding margin (+8.5) and seventh-best rebounds per game average (40.7). Rutty led Quinnipiac to its first-ever national postseason appearance, when the Bobcats faced Virginia Tech in the National Invitation Tournament.

Feldeine averaged a team-high 16.5 points per game (5th - NEC) for the Bobcats in his senior season. He was named NABC All-District 18 First Team and finishes his career 14th in program history with 1,320 points, fourth in Quinnipiac Division I history. Feldeine led the NEC in 20-point performances with 13, while also finishing seventh in free-throw percentage (.797), 10th in steals (1.42 spg.), 13th in the league in rebounding (5.8 rpg.) and 15th in field-goal percentage (.425). With 19 points, 11 assists and 10 rebounds, Feb. 25 against Monmouth, Feldeine became one of just nine players in NCAA Division I to compile a triple-double this season.

Johnson remained one of the most consistent players in the Bobcats' line-up, extending his consecutive starts streak to 64 games to begin his career. The sophomore averaged 12.1 points (16th - NEC), 4.0 assists (7th - NEC), 1.42 steals (10th - NEC) and compiled a 1.83 assist-to-turnover ratio (4th - NEC). Johnson greatly improved his shooting this season, connecting at 82.9 percent from the free-throw line (3rd - NEC) and 38.5 percent from long range (.385). Johnson scored a career-high 28 points as the Bobcats defeated Robert Morris, Feb. 20, en route to securing home-court advantage throughout the NEC Tournament.

2009-10 All-Connecticut 6 Teams

First Team

Student-Athlete Class Position High School/Hometown
James Feldeine, Quinnipiac Sr. Guard Cardinal Hayes/New York, N.Y.
Anthony Johnson, Fairfield Sr. Center Lake Wales/Lake Wales, Fla.
Derek Needham, Fairfield Fr. Guard De La Salle Institute/Dolton, Ill.
Justin Rutty, Quinnipiac Jr. Forward Newburgh Free Academy, Newburgh, N.Y.
Alex Zampier, Yale Sr. Guard Columbia/East Greenbush, N.Y.

Second Team

Student-Athlete Class Position High School/Hometown
Corey Hassan, Sacred Heart Sr. Forward Merrimack/Merrimack, N.H.
James Johnson, Quinnipiac So. Guard Bishop Loughlin/Queens, N.Y.
Ryan Litke, Sacred Heart Sr. Guard Windsor/Windsor, Conn.
Shemik Thompson, Central Connecticut Jr. Guard Cape Henlopen/Milton, Del.
Joe Zeglinski, Hartford Jr. Guard Archbishop Ryan/ Philadelphia, Pa.

Connecticut 6 Player of the Year

Justin Rutty, Quinnipiac

Connecticut 6 Rookie of the Year

Derek Needham, Fairfield