Dan Clarke Named Men's Ice Hockey Most Valuable Player At Annual Awards Banquet

HAMDEN, Conn. - Sophomore Dan Clarke (Belleville, Ont.) was named the Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Most Valuable Player at the team's annual year-end banquet at the TD Bank Sports Center in Hamden, Conn. Senior captain Jean-Marc Beaudoin (St. Paul, Alb.) was given the Coaches Award, while Mike Atkinson (Sparta, N.J.) and Greg Holt (Mt. Sinai, N.Y.) were given the team's Seventh Player Award. Yuri Bouharevich (Montreal, Que.) earned the Academic Award while freshman Jeremy Langlois (Tempe, Ariz.) was honored with the Rookie of the Year Award.

Clarke had a solid season in goal to earn the team's MVP honor. The sophomore goalie posted a 15-15-2 record with a .913 save percentage and a 2.52 goals-against average. Clarke logged close to 2,000 minutes in net over 34 games played. He opened the year with a 44-save performance against Ohio State as the Bobcats knocked off the nationally-ranked Buckeyes, 3-1, on the their home ice. Clarke opened the year with wins in eight of his first nine games, including national Player of the Month honors for November. He was a four-time ECAC Hockey Goalie of the Week honoree while posting 10 games with 30 or more saves. Clarke stopped a career-best, and ECAC Hockey Tournament record, 73 shots on goal against Union in the league quarterfinals' first game, which lasted an NCAA Division I hockey record 150:17 for the longest game in college hockey history.

Atkinson and Holt were named Co-Seventh Player Award, given to an individual who has shown the most growth as a member of the men's ice hockey team in his time at Quinnipiac. Both players have shown an increase in their offensive production in four years, ultimately culminating in career years for the Bobcats. Holt finished the year with 10 goals and 20 assists for his first 30-point season at Quinnipiac. Atkinson tallied nine goals and eight assists while also scoring two shorthanded goals while playing on the Bobcats' power play. For their careers, Holt totaled 24 goals and 44 assists for 68 points, while Atkinson tallied 22 goals and 30 assists for 52 points.

Beaudoin adds the Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Coaches' Award to his already impressive resume.The Coaches Award is given to the student-athlete who exemplifies everything that Quinnipiac men's hockey embodies. Beaudoin is the first Quinnipiac men's ice hockey player to earn the award twice. This year, he scored his 100th career point, while once again posting career numbers. The senior captain finished with 14 goals, 20 assists and 34 points on his way to be named a candidate for the prestigious Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. While he did not win the award, Beaudoin was named a Lowe's Senior CLASS All-American, the first Quinnipiac player to do so.

Bouharevich missed most the year with an injury, playing ini 20 of the Bobcats 39 games. Bouharevich totaled four goals and eight assists for 12 points for the year. The second-year Bobcat posted a team-best grade-point average of 3.96 while majoring in health sciences.

Langlois took the honor as the team's top first-year player after leading all Quinnipiac freshmen with eight goals and 12 assists for 20 points in 39 games played. Langlois picked up his first career point on an assist in the Bobcats win against Ohio State in their season opener. His first career goal came at the TD Bank Sports Center in a 5-1 win against Harvard on Nov. 13, 2009. He went on to score post a pair of two-goal games in a span of three games against Colgate on Nov. 20 and Princeton on Nov. 25. He had a career-best two assists against St. Lawrence on Feb. 12.

All-Time Program Award Winners

Year Most Valuable Player Rookie of the Year Coaches' Award 7th Player Award Academic Award
1995 Bob Lucarelli '95 Scott Robson '98 Jon Mattison '96 Keith Knoop '95
Scott Pollak '96

1996 Jason Rothfuss '99 Jason Rothfuss '99 Ken Dusebout Matt Slifstein '99

1997 Matt Goodrich '99 Kris Cumming '00 Keith Glushek '97 Tim Fisher '99

1998 Chris Cerrella '01 Chris Cerrella '01 Scott Robson '98 Terry Harris '01
Justin Nolan '98

1999 Chad Poliquin '01 Neil Breen '02 Matt Goodrich '99 Dennis Palaia '01

2000 Shawn Mansoff '01 Brian Herbert '03 Kris Cumming '00 Todd Bennett '02

2001 Chris Cerrella '01 Justin Eddy '04 Todd Bennett '02 Terry Harris '01
Jed Holtzman '01

2002 Ryan Olson '02 Jamie Holden '05 Matt Plante '02 Ryan Morton '04

2003 Wade Winkler '03 Mike Bordieri '06 Colin Cook '03 Matt Froehlich '05
Matt Erhart '03

2004 Jamie Holden '05 Reid Cashman '07 Justin Eddy '04 Ty Deinema '06

2005 Reid Cashman '07 Ben Nelson '08 Jack Devaney '06 Joe Dumais '06

2006 Reid Cashman '07 Bryan Leitch '09 Ty Deinema '06 Jamie Bates '08
Joe Dumais '06

2007 Reid Cashman '07 Brandon Wong '10 Dan Cullen '08 Dan Henningson '09
Mark Nelson '09

2008 Dan Henningson '09 Zach Hansen '11 Mark Agnew '08 Andy Meyer '09

2009 Dan Henningson '09 Scott Zurevinski '12 Jean-Marc Beaudoin '10 Jean-Marc Beaudoin '10 Jean-Marc Beaudoin '10

2010 Dan Clarke '13 Jeremy Langlois '14 Jean-Marc Beaudoin '10 Mike Atkinson '10 Yuri Bouharevich '13
Greg Holt '10