Former Men's Ice Hockey All-American Reid Cashman Named To ECAC Hockey Top 50 Team

Former Quinnipiac All-American Reid Cashman has been named one of the top 50 players in ECAC Hockey history, as announced by the league today. As part of its 50th Anniversary celebration, ECAC Hockey has been releasing the 50 best players in league history since Nov. 11, with Cashman being named in the ninth group. Cashman was previously named to the ECAC Hockey All-Decade Team for the period from 2000 through 2009.

"We are very proud of Reid's accomplishments, both on and off the ice," Quinnipiac head coach Rand Pecknold said. "He is a special person, a great captain and was a dominant player in his four years at Quinnipiac University."

Cashman, from Red Wing, Minn., first earned All-America honors in 2004-05 when the Bobcats were members of Atlantic Hockey. Cashman went on to earn consecutive ECAC Hockey First Team and All-American honors when he finished as the league's top-scoring defenseman in 2006 and 2007, while also ending up as the only defenseman in the Top 20 in scoring in the nation both years. In 2007, he captained a Quinnipiac team that played for the ECAC Hockey Championship in just its second year in the league.

In 79 career ECAC Hockey games, Cashman tallied 82 points, earning him a spot on the All-Decade team. In 2007, he finished second in the nation in scoring among defenseman with 41 points in 40 games for a 1.02 per game average. The previous season, he scored 41 points in 39 games for a 1.05 per game average, good for third in the nation among all blue-liners. In both seasons in ECAC Hockey, Cashman led the league in assists and power-play points.

The school record-holder in career assists with 125, he also holds the single-season defenseman records in assists with 35 in 2006-07 and 45 in 2004-05. The all-time leading scorer amongst defenseman, his 148 career points rank eighth overall.

Upon completion of his Quinnipiac career, Cashman signed with the Toronto Maple Leafs, playing seven games that season with Toronto's top affiliate, the Toronto Marlies of the American Hockey League (AHL). Cashman enjoyed two stints with the Marlies, while also suiting up for the AHL's Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins and the Milwaukee Admirals. He also played for the Columbia Inferno, Wheeling Nailers and the Cincinnati Cyclones of the East Coast Hockey League. He is currently playing for EHC Black Wings Linz of the Austrian Erste Bank Ice Hockey League.

The top 50 players were determined by a selection committee made up of former coaches and media members. These honorees were tallied from 145 players (47 defensemen; 73 forwards; and 25 goaltenders).

The ninth segment of honorees includes: Quinnipiac University defenseman Reid Cashman, a two-time all-american (2006 and 2007), who holds the school record for career assists (125) and one of only six Bobcats to play in 150-plus games (151); Scott Fusco, Harvard, forward, a three-time first-team all-conference selection, who led the Crimson in goals and scoring for three seasons; Tom Mellor, defenseman, Boston College, named 1970 ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year and 1973 ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, who amassed 135 points in 81 games; Providence defenseman Randy Velischek, a member of the 1980-89 ECAC Hockey All-Decade Team, who helped the Friars to 1981 and 1983 NCAA Tournament appearances; and Terry Yurkiewicz, goaltender, Clarkson, who was helped the Golden Knights to their first-ever regular-season title (1965) and program's first-ever tournament title in 1966.

All current and former teams' impactful players, including those from Boston College, Boston University, New Hampshire, Middlebury, Army, etc... were reviewed in comprising the list of candidates for the special team. Five players from the top 50 all-time team will be released every two weeks throughout the season leading up the championship in March 18-19 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

The first group of top 50 players released on November 11 included the following: Bob Brinkworth, forward at Rensselaer (1961-64); Ken Dryden, Cornell goaltender (1967-69); defenseman Mark Fusco, Harvard (1980-83); Brian Mueller, defenseman, Clarkson (1991-95); and Boston College forward Joe Mullen (1975-79). The League released the second segment of players on November 24 which included the following; defenseman Ray Giroux, Yale (1994-98); Joe Juneau forward Rensselaer (1987-91); Colgate forward Andy McDonald (1996-00); Joe Nieuwendyk, foward Cornell (1984-87); and defenseman Ron Wilson, Providence (1973-77). The third assembly release on December 8 included the following: Joe Cavanagh, Harvard, forward, (1969-71); Yann Danis Brown, goaltender, (2000-04); Clarkson defenseman Dave Fretz (1981-85); Dan Laperriere, St. Lawrence, defenseman, (1988-92); and forward Martin St. Louis, Vermont (1993-97). On December 22, the fourth collection of top 50 players was released which included; Ralph Cox, New Hampshire, forward, (1975-79); Union goaltender, Trevor Koenig (1995-98); Boston University forward, Rick Meagher (1973-77); forward Lance Nethery from Cornell (1975-79); and Lee Stempniak, Dartmouth, forward (2001-05). The League released the fifth segment on January 5 which included the following; John Cunniff, Boston College, forward (1963-66); Harvard forward, Gene Kinasewich (1964-66); defenseman Douglas Murray from Cornell (1999-03); Vic Stanfield, Boston University defenseman (1972-75); and forward Dave Taylor, Clarkson (1973-77). The sixth group was announced on January 18 which included the following: Brown defenseman Bob Gaudreau (1964-66); Jeff Halpern, forward at Princeton (1995-99); forward Peter Lappin from St. Lawrence (1984-88); Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute forward Adam Oates (1983-85); and defenseman Jack O'Callahan, Boston University (1975-79). On February 2 the League released the seventh group which included the following; Clarkson defenseman Bill Blackwood (1974-78); forward Brian Cornell from Cornell (1966-69); Yale forward Jeff Hamilton (1996-99, 2001); Lane MacDonald, Harvard forward, (1985-87, 1989); and goaltender Tim Thomas, Vermont, (1993-97). Group No. 8 was released on February 16 which included; Boston University Defenseman Bob Brown (1970-72); forward Doug Ferguson from Cornell (1964-67); Colgate forward Dan Fridgen (1979-82); Tim Sheehy, Boston College forward, (1967-70); and forward Todd White, Clarkson, (1993-97).

The top 50 players were determined by a vote of a selection committee of 10 individuals, which include Joe Bertagna, former student-athlete at Harvard, former hockey commissioner of the ECAC and current commissioner of Hockey East; Ed Carpenter, former Sports Information Director at Boston U.; Bill Cleary, former student-athlete, head coach and director of athletics at Harvard; John Connolly, long-time sports reporter at the Boston Herald; Dan Fridgen, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at RPI; Mike Gilligan, former head coach at Yale (interim) and Vermont; Lou Lamoriello, former student-athlete and head coach at Providence and current CEO/President/General Manager of the New Jersey Devils; Mark Morris, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at Clarkson; Tim Taylor, former student-athlete at Harvard and former head coach at Yale; and Adam Wodon, editor of the College Hockey News Web site.