New England Hockey Journal Ranks Women's Ice Hockey Third In New England Power Rankings

"Women's Journal; One Year Later, Eagles Still Soaring", by Mike Zhe, www.hockeyjournal.com 
Quinnipiac Women's Ice Hockey Homepage
Quinnipiac Women's Ice Hockey Season Statistics
ECAC Women's Ice Hockey Standings
Quinnipiac Ticket Information Homepage 

HAMDEN, Conn. – The Quinnipiac women’s ice hockey team (13-7-1, 9-2-1 ECAC Hockey) has been highlighted in this week’s New England Hockey Journal as the third-best team in the New England region, as published on Tuesday, Dec. 13. In this week’s Weekly Journal piece, written by Mike Zhe, the ECAC Hockey leading Bobcats trail only No. 4/4 Boston College (13-5-1, 7-2-1 WHEA) and No. 7/9 Northeastern (13-4-1, 8-2-1 WHEA) in the power rankings.

The Bobcats are coming off a weekend sweep against ECAC Hockey opponent Princeton (6-9-1, 5-6-1 ECAC Hockey), in which the squad took home a pair of shutouts, 1-0, 3-0, on Friday, Dec. 9 and Saturday, Dec. 10. For her efforts, junior goaltender Victoria Vigilanti (Woodbridge, Ontario) earned ECAC Hockey Goaltender of the Week honors earlier in the day on Tuesday, Dec. 13, marking the second time this season she has won the award.

Quinnipiac heads into its winter break with 13 wins for the second-consecutive season, and currently is in first place with a league-high 19 points.

The 2012 portion of the schedule begins with a home series against Dartmouth and Harvard on Friday, Jan. 6 and Saturday, Jan. 7, before the team heads out on the road to face Cornell and Colgate on Friday, Jan. 13 and Saturday, Jan. 14. Quinnipiac hosts non-conference opponent Syracuse in back-to-back games on Friday, Jan. 27 and Saturday, Jan. 28 before it takes on Harvard and Dartmouth in the final two regular season road games of the year on Friday, Feb. 3 and Saturday, Feb. 4.

Quinnipiac finishes the season with four-straight home contests, beginning with a weekend series against St. Lawrence and Clarkson on Friday, Feb. 10 and Saturday, Feb. 11. The squad hits the ice for the final regular season games on Friday, Feb. 17 and Saturday, Feb. 18. Against Union and Rensselaer.

Please click on the above link to read the full release on www.hockeyjournal.com.

Contact: Ross Bennett; rsbennett@quinnipiac.edu