Women's Lacrosse Announces 2012 Team Awards

Quinnipiac Women's Lacrosse Homepage

HAMDEN, Conn. – The Quinnipiac University women's lacrosse team announced its 2012 team awards in a ceremony on Friday afternoon. Awards for outstanding attack, midfield, and defensive player were handed out along with honors for most improved player and the Becca Main Ultimate Bobcat Award. The Bobcats finished the 2012 season with an 8-8 record and a share of the NEC regular season title.

Junior Sarah Allen (Glastonbury, Conn.) was named the team's Outstanding Attack Player after a strong junior campaign with the Bobcats. Allen was named first team All-Northeast Conference after leading the NEC with 4.53 points per game (4 goals, 64 assists). She racked up 13 multi-point games this spring, including nine games with five or more points. Allen also established a new single season record for assists (64) for both the Quinnipiac program and the NEC. She currently leads the nation in total assists and assists per game (4.27), and her assists per game mark is the highest ever in Division I.

"Sarah really had an amazing statistical season this year," Head Coach Danie Caro said. "She worked very hard to become a great playmaker for us, and really became a leader for us on the field. We look forward to her continued improvement next season."

Senior Marissa Caroleo (North Babylon, N.Y.) was honored as the team's Outstanding Midfielder. Caroleo's 46 goals this season lead the team, and she finished second in overall points (55). She was recognized as the NEC Player of the Year for the second season in a row, and also garnered a second consecutive first-team All-Northeast Conference nod. Caroleo also finished second on the team in draw controls and fourth in ground balls and ranked in the top six in the NEC in both goals per game and points per game.

"Marissa had another solid season for us and was a factor for us at both ends of the field," said Caro. "She made the most of her potential and really had a stellar career. We will be sad to see her leave."

Senior defender Kim Davis (Darien, Conn.) was honored as the Outstanding Defensive Player by the team after being named to the All-Northeast Conference First Team for the first time in her career.

"Kim had a very good season," Caro said. "She has really worked hard on her game over the last two years and it's nice to see it pay off."

The team's Most Improved Player honor was given to freshmen goalkeeper Samantha Tilts (Port Washington, N.Y.), who started six games for the Bobcats in her rookie campaign. Tilts posted a .453 save percentage to go with a 10.92 GAA, while adding 13 ground balls and 5 caused turnovers in her 11 appearances.

"Sam really did a great job in a very difficult situation this year," said Caro. "She is very positive in the cage and directed the defense well when she played. We think she has a lot of potential and gained great experience this year in a limited role. We're excited to watch her continue to develop."

The Becca Main Ultimate Bobcat Award is given to the player who best embodies the characteristics of the ideal student-athlete. They must excel on the field and in the classroom and demonstrate loyalty and dedication to the team. This year's award was given to junior defender Kiera Carey (Long Beach, N.Y.). Carey had 10 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers this season, her first as a regular starter.

"Kiera is a wonderful person and the perfect recipient for this award," Caro explained. "She is a great role model for her teammates because she embodies the best characteristics a student-athlete should have. It has been a pleasure to coach her

The team's Most Valuable Player award was previously announced at the 2011-12 Athletics and Recreation Athletics Awards program held on May 2, 2012 at the TD Bank Center. Senior Marissa Caroleo was honored with her second consecutive selection.

Previous Lacrosse MVPs:

2011: Marissa Caroleo '12
2010: Katie Latonick '10
2009: Ashley Valentine '09
2008: Tiffany Manzi '09
2007: Hannah Nelson '09
2006: Vanessa Miranda '06
2005: Christy Smallman '05