August 26, 2011

No. 11 UCLA Sweeps Volleyball, 3-0

Box Score

LOS ANGELES – Senior setter Kayla Lawler (Louisville, Ky.) had 14 assists and freshman defensive specialist Krista Bennett (Scottsdale, Ariz.) added 10 digs, but the Quinnipiac University volleyball team fell to nationally-ranked No. 11 UCLA, 3-0, in the season opener for both teams Friday evening at the Loyola Marymount Invitational. The Bruins took the first set, 25-11, before the second and third became increasingly competitive, with 25-16 and 25-19 results, respectively. With the loss, the Bobcats fall to 0-1, while the Bruins improve to 1-0, winning their 13th consecutive season opener.

Kelby Carey (Surfside, Calif.) had a team-high seven kills, while Taylor Payne (Warwick, N.Y.) added six kills. Payne and Carey had two blocks each. Logan Riker (Bowling Green, Ohio) also added five digs for the Bobcats. One of the nation's leaders in service aces a year ago, Lawler contributed two service aces Friday evening.

Meg Norton led all hitters with 12 kills for UCLA. Megan Moenoa had 28 assists, while Madie Smith added 10 digs for the Bruins. Zoe Nightingale and Jenna Scilacci had two blocks each.

The Bobcats continue Loyola Marymount Invitational action Saturday, when they face the host Lions and Cal State Fullerton. Quinnipiac first takes on Loyola Marymount at 1 p.m.(ET)/10 a.m. (PT), before facing the Titans at 8 p.m. (ET)/5 p.m. (PT).