Women’s Volleyball Announces 2013 Schedule

HAMDEN, Conn. - Quinnipiac University women's volleyball head coach Kristopher Czaplinski has announced the 2013 women's volleyball schedule, as the Bobcats will compete in their first season as a member of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC). The Bobcats have 18 conference matchups and 13 matches at Burt Kahn Court. The Bobcats will also compete in two early-season tournaments, the Delta Zeta Texas State Classic and the Lafayette/Lehigh Crosstown Tournament.

Quinnipiac's schedule opens up on Friday, Aug. 30 at the Delta Zeta Texas State Classic, when the Bobcats join a field of Lamar, Houston, SMU and the hosting TSU Bobcats. Quinnipiac will take on Houston and SMU on Friday, followed by a second doubleheader against Texas St. and Lamar on Saturday (Aug. 31).

Four days later after their flight home, the Bobcats open up their home schedule on Wednesday, Sept. 4 with a non-conference matchup against Providence College (6 p.m.). After that, Quinnipiac hits the road for a week straight beginning  with St. Francis (N.Y.) on Wednesday, Sept. 11 in Brooklyn Heights (7 p.m.). Quinnipiac will then head out to Pennsylvania for three matches in the Lafayette/Lehigh Crosstown Tournament. The Bobcats join Morgan State, the Mountain Hawks and the Leopards for a two-day invitational on Friday, Sept. 13 and Saturday Sept. 14. The road trip concludes with a non-conference clash at Holy Cross on Sept. 18.

The Bobcats open up their first season of conference play as a member of the MAAC on Saturday, Sept. 21 when they host defending MAAC champion Fairfield (1 p.m.). Quinnipiac remains on campus for its next match when it takes on non-conference opponent Hartford on Wednesday, Sept. 25 (7 p.m.). Conference play resumes on the road that weekend with Iona (Sept. 28) and Manhattan (Sept. 29). Both matches are slated for 1 p.m.

"It is a privilege to join the MAAC conference and to be able to play against some of the best teams in the Northeast region," said Czaplinski. "It will definitely be a challenge coming into this conference and playing these teams that we have never seen before. I feel that with our freshmen class coming in we are going to have the much needed depth that we didn't have in the past. We are looking forward to our first of many seasons in this new conference."

October begins with a season-long six match home stand, including five straight conference matchups, starting on Saturday, Oct. 5 with Rider and Sunday, Oct. 6 against Saint Peter's. Siena pays a visit to Burt Kahn Court on Wednesday, Oct. 9 (7 p.m.) before the Bobcats battle Niagara on Saturday, Oct. 12 (1 p.m.) and Canisius on Sunday, Oct. 13 (1 p.m.). The home stand concludes with a non-conference contest on Wednesday, Oct. 16 against the Knights of Farleigh Dickinson (7 p.m.).

Quinnipiac heads out on the road to the Empire State for two weekend conference matchups against Siena on Saturday, Oct. 19 and Marist on Sunday, Oct. 20. Former NEC opponent Bryant makes a familiar trip to Hamden on Wednesday, Oct. 23 for a 7 p.m. matchup before QU resumes conference play for the remainder of the season. On Saturday, Oct. 26, the Bobcats travel to Fairfield to take on the Stags, before returning home for an afternoon battle with Marist on Wednesday, Oct. 30 (1 p.m.).

November sees Quinnipiac traveling to meet Rider on Saturday, Nov. 2 and Saint Peter's on Sunday, Nov. 3 before Quinnipiac returns home for the final time, hosting Iona on Saturday, Nov. 9 and Manhattan on Sunday, Nov. 10. Sunday's 1 p.m. matchup with the Jaspers will serve as Senior Day, hosted by the Quinnipiac Department of Athletics and Recreation. The following weekend, the regular season closes out with two road contests at Canisius and Niagara on Nov. 16 and 17, respectively.

The MAAC Championships will take place on the fourth weekend of November on the campus of Siena College in Loudonville, N.Y. The conference's top four seeds will battle for the conference title beginning with the semifinals on Saturday, Nov. 23, with the two winners meeting in the championship on Sunday, Nov. 24.

2013 Quinnipiac Women's Volleyball Schedule

Friday, Aug. 30 at Texas State Invitational (Houston) 9:30 AM
Friday, Aug. 30 at Texas State Invitational (SMU) 1:30 PM
Saturday, Aug. 31 at Texas State Invitational (Texas St.) 12:00 PM
Saturday, Aug. 31 at Texas State Invitational (Lamar) 4:30 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 04 PROVIDENCE 6:00 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 11 at St. Francis (NY) 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept. 13 at Lehigh (Lafayette/Lehigh Crosstown Tournament) 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept. 14 at Lafayette (Lafayette/Lehigh Crosstown Tournament) 10:00 AM
Saturday, Sept. 14 vs. Morgan State (Lafayette/Lehigh Crosstown Tournament) 12:30 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 18 at Holy Cross 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept. 21 FAIRFIELD* 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 25 HARTFORD 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept. 28 at Iona* 1:00 PM
Sunday, Sept. 29 at Manhattan* 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct. 05 RIDER* 1:00 PM
Sunday, Oct. 06 ST. PETER'S* 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Oct. 09 SIENA* 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct. 12 NIAGARA* 1:00 PM
Sunday, Oct. 13 CANISIUS* 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Oct. 16 FAIRLEIGH DICKINSON 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct. 19 at Siena 1:00 PM
Sunday, Oct. 20 at Marist 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Oct. 23 BRYANT 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct. 26 at Fairfield 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Oct. 30 MARIST 1:00 PM
Saturday, Nov. 02 at Rider 1:00 PM
Sunday, Nov. 03 at St. Peter's 1:00 PM
Saturday, Nov. 09 IONA 1:00 PM
Sunday, Nov. 10 MANAHATTAN 1:00 PM
Saturday, Nov. 16 at Canisius 1:00 PM
Sunday, Nov. 17 at Niagara 1:00 PM
Saturday, Nov. 23 MAAC Championships at Siena 1:00 PM
Sunday, Nov. 24 MAAC Championships at Siena 1:00 PM

Home Games in Bold to be Played at Burt Kahn Court on Mount Carmel Campus
* - Denotes MAAC Conference Game

Student-athletes, parents and fans can download the 2013-14 QU Athletics schedules to your laptop and mobile devices for free by clicking in the iCalendar link at the bottom of each sport's homepage or the master schedule page. Fans can also follow Quinnipiac Athletics on Facebook and Twitter (@QUAthletics) for all of the latest news and updates.